9781250314109-1250314100-Pie in the Sky

Pie in the Sky

ISBN-13: 9781250314109
ISBN-10: 1250314100
Edition: Illustrated
Author: Lai, Remy
Publication date: 2019
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks
Format: Paperback 384 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders
Marketplace
from $15.90

Book details

ISBN-13: 9781250314109
ISBN-10: 1250314100
Edition: Illustrated
Author: Lai, Remy
Publication date: 2019
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks
Format: Paperback 384 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Lai, Remy wrote Pie in the Sky comprising 384 pages back in 2019. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 1250314100 and 9781250314109. Since then Pie in the Sky textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price or rent at the marketplace.

Description

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!

A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year!
A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year!
An NPR Best Book of the Year!
A Horn Book Best Book of the Year!
A Kirkus Best Book of the Year!
Recipient of FIVE starred reviews!

"Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." ―Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he’s landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn’t speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

A Junior Library Guild selection!

"Seamlessly mixes together equal parts of humor, loss, identity, discovery, and love to create a delicious concoction of a story. . . illustrated beautifully with Lai's insightful drawings." ―Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

* "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney’s popular “Wimpy Kid” series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." ―School Library Journal, starred review

* “Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson.” ―Shelf Awareness, starred review

This title has common core connections.

Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book