9780358118114-0358118115-Football for a Buck: The Crazy Rise and Crazier Demise of the USFL

Football for a Buck: The Crazy Rise and Crazier Demise of the USFL

ISBN-13: 9780358118114
ISBN-10: 0358118115
Edition: Reprint
Author: Pearlman, Jeff
Publication date: 2019
Publisher: Mariner Books
Format: Paperback 400 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders
Marketplace
from $18.05

Book details

ISBN-13: 9780358118114
ISBN-10: 0358118115
Edition: Reprint
Author: Pearlman, Jeff
Publication date: 2019
Publisher: Mariner Books
Format: Paperback 400 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Pearlman, Jeff wrote Football for a Buck: The Crazy Rise and Crazier Demise of the USFL comprising 400 pages back in 2019. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 0358118115 and 9780358118114. Since then Football for a Buck: The Crazy Rise and Crazier Demise of the USFL textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price of $ 0.74 or rent at the marketplace.

Description

From a multiple New York Times bestselling author, the rollicking, outrageous, you-can’t-make-this-up story of the USFL

The United States Football League—known fondly to millions of sports fans as the USFL—was the last football league to not merely challenge the NFL, but cause its owners and executives to collectively shudder. It spanned three seasons, 1983-85. It secured multiple television deals. It drew millions of fans and launched the careers of legends. But then it died beneath the weight of a particularly egotistical and bombastic owner—a New York businessman named Donald J. Trump. The league featured as many as 18 teams, and included such superstars as Steve Young, Jim Kelly, Herschel Walker, Reggie White, Doug Flutie and Mike Rozier.

In Football for a Buck, the dogged reporter and biographer Jeff Pearlman draws on more than four hundred interviews to unearth all the salty, untold stories of one of the craziest sports entities to have ever captivated America. From 1980s drug excess to airplane brawls and player-coach punch outs, to backroom business deals, to some of the most enthralling and revolutionary football ever seen, Pearlman transports readers back in time to this crazy, boozy, audacious, unforgettable era of the game. He shows how fortunes were made and lost on the backs of professional athletes and also how, thirty years ago, Trump was a scoundrel and a spoiler.

For fans of Terry Pluto’s Loose Balls or Jim Bouton’s Ball Four and of course Pearlman’s own stranger-than-fiction narratives, Football for a Buck is sports as high entertainment—and a cautionary tale of the dangers of ego and excess.
Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book