9789525700664-9525700666-The Law of Thelema: Aleister Crowley's Philosophy of True Will

The Law of Thelema: Aleister Crowley's Philosophy of True Will

ISBN-13: 9789525700664
ISBN-10: 9525700666
Author: Balk, Antti P
Publication date: 2018
Publisher: Thelema Publications
Format: Paperback 646 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders

Book details

ISBN-13: 9789525700664
ISBN-10: 9525700666
Author: Balk, Antti P
Publication date: 2018
Publisher: Thelema Publications
Format: Paperback 646 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Balk, Antti P wrote The Law of Thelema: Aleister Crowley's Philosophy of True Will comprising 646 pages back in 2018. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 9525700666 and 9789525700664. Since then The Law of Thelema: Aleister Crowley's Philosophy of True Will textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price of $ 2.14 or rent at the marketplace.

Description

Though many books have ostensibly been written on Crowley's philosophy, this might well be the first one truly accessible to an intelligent reader with no prior or current interest in the occult--yet THE LAW OF THELEMA nowise pretends that one's True Will can be ascertained without the patient utilization of esoteric techniques.

In the tradition of Franz Hartmann's Life and Doctrines of Jacob Boehme (1891), the author organizes quotations from diverse works by Crowley into a set of themes, but mostly lets the Beast speak for himself. However, the author helps the reader parse through Crowley's unique combination of Western iconography and Eastern concepts, while showing how Thelema is similar to and different from other systematic methods of attainment.

Rather than turning himself and his readers into "centres of pestilence" by discussing the contents of Liber Legis, the author merely arranges the Prophet's own scattered comments into a coherent, carefully referenced whole. This book should thus also prove indispensable to anyone who genuinely wants to work Crowley's actual system, but may not have the time or resources to connect every last dot.

ANTTI P. BALK is a Finnish historian and philosopher best known for his scholarly translations of Aleister Crowley and kindred authors.

Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book