9781982113605-198211360X-The Escape Artist

The Escape Artist

ISBN-13: 9781982113605
ISBN-10: 198211360X
Author: Fremont, Helen
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: Gallery Books
Format: Hardcover 352 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders

Book details

ISBN-13: 9781982113605
ISBN-10: 198211360X
Author: Fremont, Helen
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: Gallery Books
Format: Hardcover 352 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Fremont, Helen wrote The Escape Artist comprising 352 pages back in 2020. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 198211360X and 9781982113605. Since then The Escape Artist textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price of $ 2.00 or rent at the marketplace.

Description

A luminous family memoir from the author of the critically acclaimed Boston Globe bestseller, After Long Silence, lauded as “mesmerizing” (The Washington Post Book World), “extraordinary” (The Philadelphia Inquirer), and “a triumphant work of art” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

In the tradition of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home or George Hodgman’s Bettyville, Fremont writes with wit and candor about growing up in a household held together by a powerful glue: secrets. Her parents, profoundly affected by their memories of the Holocaust, pass on, to both Helen and her older sister, a penchant for keeping their lives neatly, even obsessively compartmentalized, and a zealous determination to protect themselves from what they see as danger from the outside world.

She delves deeply into the family dynamic that produced such a startling devotion to secret keeping, beginning with the painful and unexpected discovery that she has been disinherited in her mother’s will. In scenes that are frank, moving, and often surprisingly funny, Fremont writes about growing up in such an intemperate household, with parents who pretended to be Catholics but were really Jews—survivors of Nazi-occupied Poland. She shares tales of family therapy sessions, disordered eating, her sister’s frequently unhinged meltdowns, and her own romantic misadventures as she tries to sort out her sexual identity.

In a family devoted to hiding the truth, Fremont learns the truth is the one thing that can set you free. Scorching, witty, and ultimately redemptive, The Escape Artist is a powerful contribution to the memoir shelf.
Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book