9781949467086-1949467082-Holding On To Nothing

Holding On To Nothing

ISBN-13: 9781949467086
ISBN-10: 1949467082
Author: Shelburne, Elizabeth Chiles
Publication date: 2019
Publisher: Blair
Format: Hardcover 272 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders

Book details

ISBN-13: 9781949467086
ISBN-10: 1949467082
Author: Shelburne, Elizabeth Chiles
Publication date: 2019
Publisher: Blair
Format: Hardcover 272 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Shelburne, Elizabeth Chiles wrote Holding On To Nothing comprising 272 pages back in 2019. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 1949467082 and 9781949467086. Since then Holding On To Nothing textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price of $ 0.18 or rent at the marketplace.

Description

Lucy Kilgore has her bags packed for her escape from her rural Tennessee upbringing, but a drunken mistake forever tethers her to the town and one of its least-admired residents, Jeptha Taylor, who becomes the father of her child. Together, these two young people work to form a family, though neither has any idea how to accomplish that, and the odds are against them in a place with little to offer other than bluegrass music, tobacco fields, and a Walmart full of beer and firearms for the hunting season. Their path is harrowing, but Lucy and Jeptha are characters to love, and readers will root for their success in a novel so riveting that no one will want to turn out the light until they know whether this family will survive.



In luminous prose, debut novelist Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne brings us a present-day Appalachian story in the tradition of Lee Smith, Silas House, and Ron Rash, cast without sentiment or cliché, but with a genuine and profound understanding of the place and its people.

Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book