9781538729700-1538729709-Too Much: How Victorian Constraints Still Bind Women Today

Too Much: How Victorian Constraints Still Bind Women Today

ISBN-13: 9781538729700
ISBN-10: 1538729709
Author: Vorona Cote, Rachel
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Format: Paperback 352 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders

Book details

ISBN-13: 9781538729700
ISBN-10: 1538729709
Author: Vorona Cote, Rachel
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Format: Paperback 352 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Vorona Cote, Rachel wrote Too Much: How Victorian Constraints Still Bind Women Today comprising 352 pages back in 2020. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 1538729709 and 9781538729700. Since then Too Much: How Victorian Constraints Still Bind Women Today textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price of $ 1.48 or rent at the marketplace.

Description

Lacing cultural criticism, Victorian literature, and storytelling together, "TOO MUCH spills over: with intellect, with sparkling prose, and with the brainy arguments of Vorona Cote, who posits that women are all, in some way or another, still susceptible to being called too much." (Esmé Weijun Wang)

A weeping woman is a monster. So too is a fat woman, a horny woman, a woman shrieking with laughter. Women who are one or more of these things have heard, or perhaps simply intuited, that we are repugnantly excessive, that we have taken illicit liberties to feel or fuck or eat with abandon. After bellowing like a barn animal in orgasm, hoovering a plate of mashed potatoes, or spraying out spit in the heat of expostulation, we've flinched-ugh, that was so gross. I am so gross. On rare occasions, we might revel in our excess--belting out anthems with our friends over karaoke, perhaps--but in the company of less sympathetic souls, our uncertainty always returns. A woman who is Too Much is a woman who reacts to the world with ardent intensity is a woman familiar to lashes of shame and disapproval, from within as well as without.

Written in the tradition of Shrill, Dead Girls, Sex Object and other frank books about the female gaze, TOO MUCH encourages women to reconsider the beauty of their excesses-emotional, physical, and spiritual. Rachel Vorona Cote braids cultural criticism, theory, and storytelling together in her exploration of how culture grinds away our bodies, souls, and sexualities, forcing us into smaller lives than we desire. An erstwhile Victorian scholar, she sees many parallels between that era's fixation on women's "hysterical" behavior and our modern policing of the same; in the space of her writing, you're as likely to encounter Jane Eyre and Lizzie Bennet as you are Britney Spears and Lana Del Rey.
This book will tell the story of how women, from then and now, have learned to draw power from their reservoirs of feeling, all that makes us "Too Much."

Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book