9781497614925-1497614929-Long Summer Day (A Horseman Riding By, 1)

Long Summer Day (A Horseman Riding By, 1)

ISBN-13: 9781497614925
ISBN-10: 1497614929
Edition: Reprint
Author: Delderfield, R. F.
Publication date: 2014
Publisher: Open Road Media
Format: Paperback 834 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders

Book details

ISBN-13: 9781497614925
ISBN-10: 1497614929
Edition: Reprint
Author: Delderfield, R. F.
Publication date: 2014
Publisher: Open Road Media
Format: Paperback 834 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Delderfield, R. F. wrote Long Summer Day (A Horseman Riding By, 1) comprising 834 pages back in 2014. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 1497614929 and 9781497614925. Since then Long Summer Day (A Horseman Riding By, 1) textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price or rent at the marketplace.

Description

A great read for fans of PBS’s Poldark and Downton Abbey—first in the saga of a man returning from battle to an estate in the pre-WWI English countryside.

After serving his country in the Boer War, injured Lieutenant Paul Craddock returns to England to resume civilian life. But things have changed since he joined the Imperial Yeomanry three years ago. His father has died, leaving Paul as heir to a scrap metal business he has no intention of continuing. Instead, he purchases an auctioned-off thirteen-hundred-acre estate in a secluded corner of Devon. Neglected and overgrown, Shallowford becomes the symbol of all that Paul has lost—and a reminder of the gentle place his homeland once was. And here, on this sprawling stretch of land, he will be changed by his love for two women: fiercely independent Grace Lovell, and lovely, demure Claire Derwent.

Set in the English countryside in the first part of the previous century—from the long “Edwardian afternoon” following the death of Queen Victoria, to the gathering storm of World War I—Long Summer Day is the story of a man, his family, and a people struggling to adapt to life in a new world.

Long Summer Day is the first novel in R. F. Delderfield’s saga A Horseman Riding By, which continues with Post of Honour and The Green Gauntlet.
Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book