9781101980309-1101980303-Spying on the South: An Odyssey Across the American Divide

Spying on the South: An Odyssey Across the American Divide

ISBN-13: 9781101980309
ISBN-10: 1101980303
Author: Horwitz, Tony
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: Penguin Books
Format: Paperback 512 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders

Book details

ISBN-13: 9781101980309
ISBN-10: 1101980303
Author: Horwitz, Tony
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: Penguin Books
Format: Paperback 512 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Horwitz, Tony wrote Spying on the South: An Odyssey Across the American Divide comprising 512 pages back in 2020. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 1101980303 and 9781101980309. Since then Spying on the South: An Odyssey Across the American Divide textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price of $ 4.36 or rent at the marketplace.

Description

The New York Times-bestselling final book by the beloved, Pulitzer-Prize winning historian Tony Horwitz.

With Spying on the South, the best-selling author of Confederates in the Attic returns to the South and the Civil War era for an epic adventure on the trail of America's greatest landscape architect. In the 1850s, the young Frederick Law Olmsted was adrift, a restless farmer and dreamer in search of a mission. He found it during an extraordinary journey, as an undercover correspondent in the South for the up-and-coming New York Times.

For the Connecticut Yankee, pen name "Yeoman," the South was alien, often hostile territory. Yet Olmsted traveled for 14 months, by horseback, steamboat, and stagecoach, seeking dialogue and common ground. His vivid dispatches about the lives and beliefs of Southerners were revelatory for readers of his day, and Yeoman's remarkable trek also reshaped the American landscape, as Olmsted sought to reform his own society by creating democratic spaces for the uplift of all. The result: Central Park and Olmsted's career as America's first and foremost landscape architect.

Tony Horwitz rediscovers Yeoman Olmsted amidst the discord and polarization of our own time. Is America still one country? In search of answers, and his own adventures, Horwitz follows Olmsted's tracks and often his mode of transport (including muleback): through Appalachia, down the Mississippi River, into bayou Louisiana, and across Texas to the contested Mexican borderland. Venturing far off beaten paths, Horwitz uncovers bracing vestiges and strange new mutations of the Cotton Kingdom. Horwitz's intrepid and often hilarious journey through an outsized American landscape is a masterpiece in the tradition of Great Plains, Bad Land, and the author's own classic, Confederates in the Attic.

Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book