9780820323060-0820323063-Educating for Eco-Justice and Community

Educating for Eco-Justice and Community

ISBN-13: 9780820323060
ISBN-10: 0820323063
Edition: First Printing
Author: Bowers, C. A.
Publication date: 2001
Publisher: University of Georgia Press
Format: Paperback 248 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders
Marketplace
from $20.27

Book details

ISBN-13: 9780820323060
ISBN-10: 0820323063
Edition: First Printing
Author: Bowers, C. A.
Publication date: 2001
Publisher: University of Georgia Press
Format: Paperback 248 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Bowers, C. A. wrote Educating for Eco-Justice and Community comprising 248 pages back in 2001. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 0820323063 and 9780820323060. Since then Educating for Eco-Justice and Community textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price of $ 2.00 or rent at the marketplace.

Description

We believe in social justice. We support educational reform. Yet unless we reframe our approaches to both, says C. A. Bowers, the social justice attained through educational reform will only lead to more intractable forms of consumerism and further impoverishment of our communities. In Educating for Eco-Justice and Community Bowers outlines a strategy for educational reform that confronts the rapid degradation of our ecosystems by renewing the face-to-face, intergenerational traditions that can serve as alternatives to our hyper-consumerist, technology-driven worldview.

Bowers explains how current technological and progressive programs of educational reform operate on deep cultural assumptions that came out of the Enlightenment and led to the Industrial Revolution. These beliefs frame our relationship with nature in adversarial terms, view progress as inevitable, and elevate the individual over community, expertise over intergenerational knowledge, and profit over reciprocity.

By making eco-justice a priority of educational reform, we can begin to:democratize developments in science and technology in ways that eliminate eco-racism;reverse the global processes that are worsening the economic and political inequities between the hemispheres;expose the cultural forces that turn aspects of daily life―from education and entertainment to work and leisure―into market-dependent relationships;uplift knowledge and traditions of intergenerationally connected communities; anddevelop a sense of moral responsibility for the long-term consequences of our excessive material demands.

In the tradition of Wendell Berry, David Orr, and Kirkpatrick Sale, Bowers thinks about our place in the natural world and the current economies to show how we can reform education and create a less consumer-driven society.

Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book