9780062890009-006289000X-Swimming in the Dark: A Novel

Swimming in the Dark: A Novel

ISBN-13: 9780062890009
ISBN-10: 006289000X
Author: Jedrowski, Tomasz
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: William Morrow
Format: Hardcover 208 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders
Marketplace
from $25.94

Book details

ISBN-13: 9780062890009
ISBN-10: 006289000X
Author: Jedrowski, Tomasz
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: William Morrow
Format: Hardcover 208 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Jedrowski, Tomasz wrote Swimming in the Dark: A Novel comprising 208 pages back in 2020. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 006289000X and 9780062890009. Since then Swimming in the Dark: A Novel textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price of $ 4.04 or rent at the marketplace.

Description

“Imagine Call Me By Your Name set in Communist Poland and you'll get a sense of Jedrowski's moving debut about a consuming love affair amidst a country being torn apart.” — O Magazine, LGBTQ Books That’ll Change the Literary Landscape in 2020

“Captivating both for its shimmering surfaces and its terrifying depths. Tomasz Jedrowski is a remarkable writer.” — Justin Torres, bestselling author of We the Animals

Set in early 1980s Poland against the violent decline of communism, a tender and passionate story of first love between two young men who eventually find themselves on opposite sides of the political divide—a stunningly poetic and heartrending literary debut for fans of Andre Aciman, Garth Greenwell, and Alan Hollinghurst.

When university student Ludwik meets Janusz at a summer agricultural camp, he is fascinated yet wary of this handsome, carefree stranger. But a chance meeting by the river soon becomes an intense, exhilarating, and all-consuming affair. After their camp duties are fulfilled, the pair spend a dreamlike few weeks camping in the countryside, bonding over an illicit copy of James Baldwin’s Giovanni’s Room. Inhabiting a beautiful natural world removed from society and its constraints, Ludwik and Janusz fall deeply in love. But in their repressive communist and Catholic society, the passion they share is utterly unthinkable.

Once they return to Warsaw, the charismatic Janusz quickly rises in the political ranks of the party and is rewarded with a highly-coveted position in the ministry. Ludwik is drawn toward impulsive acts of protest, unable to ignore rising food prices and the stark economic disparity around them. Their secret love and personal and political differences slowly begin to tear them apart as both men struggle to survive in a regime on the brink of collapse.

Shifting from the intoxication of first love to the quiet melancholy of growing up and growing apart, Swimming in the Dark is a potent blend of romance, post-war politics, intrigue, and history. Lyrical and sensual, immersive and intense, Tomasz Jedrowski has crafted an indelible and thought-provoking literary debut that explores freedom and love in all its incarnations.

Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book