9780062693464-0062693468-As Needed for Pain: A Memoir of Addiction

As Needed for Pain: A Memoir of Addiction

ISBN-13: 9780062693464
ISBN-10: 0062693468
Author: Peres, Dan
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: Harper
Format: Hardcover 256 pages
FREE shipping on ALL orders

Book details

ISBN-13: 9780062693464
ISBN-10: 0062693468
Author: Peres, Dan
Publication date: 2020
Publisher: Harper
Format: Hardcover 256 pages

Summary

Acknowledged authors Peres, Dan wrote As Needed for Pain: A Memoir of Addiction comprising 256 pages back in 2020. Textbook and eTextbook are published under ISBN 0062693468 and 9780062693464. Since then As Needed for Pain: A Memoir of Addiction textbook was available to sell back to BooksRun online for the top buyback price or rent at the marketplace.

Description

In the vein of Mary Karr’s Lit, Augusten Burroughs’ Dry and Sarah Hepola’s Blackout, As Needed for Pain is a raw and riveting—and often wryly funny—addiction memoir from one of New York media’s most accomplished editors which explores his never-before-told story of opioid addiction and the drastic impact it had on his life and career.

Dan Peres wasn’t born to be a media insider. As an awkward, magic-obsessed adolescent, nothing was further from his reality than the catwalks of Paris or the hallways of glossy magazine publishers. A gifted writer and shrewd cultural observer, Peres eventually took the leap—even when it meant he had to fake a sense of belonging in a new world of famed fashion designers, celebrities, and some of media’s biggest names. But he had a secret: opiates.

Peres’s career as an editor at W magazine and Details is well known, but little is known about his private life as a high-functioning drug addict. In As Needed for Pain, Peres lays bare for the first time the extent of his drug use—at one point a 60-pill-a-day habit.

By turns humorous and gripping, Peres’s story is a cautionary coming-of-age tale filled with unforgettable characters and breathtaking brushes with disaster. But the heart of the book is his journey from outsider to insecure insider, what it took to get him there, and how he found his way back from a killing addiction.

As Needed for Pain offers a rare glimpse into New York media’s past—a time when print magazines mattered—and a rarefied world of wealth, power, and influence. It is also a brilliant, shocking dissection of a life teetering on the edge of destruction, and what it took to pull back from the brink.

Rate this book Rate this book

We would LOVE it if you could help us and other readers by reviewing the book